Tags

, , ,

Heartless has been out for a few weeks now, and the reviews are starting to come in. I’m pretty happy with most of them so far, the aspects of the novel that I worked hard on have come across well in general, and all the extra proofreading seems to have cut down on complaints over typos and spelling errors – which was one of my main bugbears with my writing.

In other news, one aspect of the book that I wasn’t happy with has come under fire, teaching me that important lesson that, if it doesn’t feel right to me, if won’t to someone else. Bailey and Cohen’s relationship, I agree with the reviewers, is not the focal point of the story, and needed more time devoted to it. I regret not delving deeper into their characters, and really drawing them out. Something I clearly have to work on.

I say to myself, every time I write something new ‘this is going to be the best thing I’ve written, so far’ and one of the things I do as I’m writing my next novel is to look back at what I, and otheres, dislike about my previous ones. I’m nowhere near where I want to be as a writer, but I’m always glad to see people saying that I’ve improved, and that my writing is changing, it gives me hope that, with a lot more practice, I’ll come out with something even better next time.

At the moment I’m up to 60,000 words on my new novel, started some time back in February. It looks like it’s going to be a long one, my normal length is around 80,000 and I’m only about halfway through the plot of the new one at the moment, and it’s still only got a working title. But, with every review for Heartless, I get more of an idea of what not to do, and I’m so happy that people have taken time to help me improve.

This is also going to be the novel I take with me to my masters course, which begins this september! So, with another year of creative writing degree under my belt, I will hopefully be able to make it a lot better than my previous work.

And, the one after that, who knows 🙂 I’ve already got some ideas.

